On Saturday, September 26, 2009, I paid tribute to the incomparable Usain “Lightning” Bolt in NY. The Jamaican Government and the Jamaica Tourist Board requested that I write and pay tribute to Bolt. The piece was titled, “Return of the Spirit Champion” in which I first paid homage to the ancestors who trod the rocky mountains, deep valleys, and the mango walks of Jamaica. Then I celebrated his accomplishments as he now finds himself among the greats such as Don Quarrie to name a few. After which, I presented him with a copy of the tribute and my award winning book “Olympic Gardens.

The evening was a delight. I will admit that I made the gentleman blush quite a bit. Well it wouldn’t be Andrene if I didn’t create a stir. The audience thoroughly enjoyed the evening, and so did my family, including my 87 year old mother, GwendolineAndrene presenting Usain Bolt with a copy of the tribute "Return of the Spirit Champion" and her award winning book "Olympic Gardens.". Mama loves Usain–she never tires of watching him cruise to the finish line.